Basham Prize

Each year the College of Asia and the Pacific may offer a prize known as the Basham prize.

Offered by ANU College of Asia & the Pacific


The objective of the prize is to be awarded to the student, who in that year was enrolled in a course leading to the award of the degree of Bachelor within the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific and achieved the best result in the course The Making of South Asia (ASIA2271/6271).

The value of the prize is $500

The prize will be on offer from 2023, indefinitely.

The Prize was created to honour Arthur Llewellyn Basham, a South Asia historian and foundational academic in the establishment of the Department of Oriental Studies (Now College of Asia and the Pacific) at ANU. Basham was also an instrumental figure in the teaching and research of Asian studies throughout the country.


Aveline Yang
Samuel David Vancea-Harrison
Harrison Rule
Declan Connor
James Robert Connolly
Molly Tredinnick

Field of study

Asian studies

Reference Documents

Use contact details to request an alternative file format.